Parish Session

It comprises of two congregations namely PCEA Ciiko Church along Mwiki-Kasarani road at Hunters and PCEA Baraka Church at Chieko area.
It was inaugurated on Sunday December 17, 2017 by the Moderator of the 21st General Assembly Rev. Julius Guantai Mwamba, through the Nairobi North Presbytery. The event was held at then PCEA Mwiki Church grounds where the larger PCEA Kasarani parish that comprised of four congregations, PCEA Kasarani, Ciiko, Baraka and Mwiki churches was split into three parishes.
Retired Rev. Simon N. Githinji was seconded to the new parish as the stand-in Moderator by the Presbytery of Nairobi North.
In May 2018, the Rev. David Gitundu Kamau was posted to the Parish as the substantive Parish Minister.
PCEA Kasarani Central Parish Session was then constituted with the election of the following officials:

  • Elder David Ngugi Waweru - Session Clerk
  • Elder Zakayo Wakaba Muiruri - Treasurer
  • Elder Joseph Muhindi Gathara - Finance Chair
  • Elder Nelly Wambui Maina - Development Chairperson

The Session has 26 ordained elders, seven in Baraka Church, eighteen active elders and one retired at Ciiko Church. The Session is the final decision-making body of the local church/es. Activities and programmes of the local church must be agreed and authorized at the Session level.
Elder Godffrey Kiarie Kariuki has since relocated to another parish; and Retired Elder Ann ng'endo Muchui went to be with the Lord in August, 2021.


  1. Elder Alice W. Mathenge
  2. Elder Ann Ng’endo Muchui (Retired) - now deceased
  3. Elder Augustine Gitonga Nyagah
  4. Elder Beatrice W. Wanjau
  5. Elder Catherine K. Njeru
  6. Elder Danson Kiarie
  7. Elder David Ngugi Waweru
  8. Elder Esther W. Ngunjiri
  9. Elder Geoffrey Ndegwa Mbaratha
  10. Elder Godfrey Kiarie Kariuki (relocated)
  11. Elder Grace W. Kagori
  12. Elder Harun Mwangi Ndiritu
  13. Elder James Mwangi Kinuthia
  14. Elder Jane W. Kenju
  15. Elder Jeremiah Maina Mwangi
  16. Elder John Njoroge Kinuthia
  17. Elder Joseph Muhindi Gathara
  18. Elder Lucy W. Mburu
  19. Elder Mary W. Kirubi
  20. Elder Nancy N. Irungu
  21. Elder Nelly W. Maina
  22. Elder Nelson Kamau Gitau
  23. Elder Pauline N. Ndegwa
  24. Elder Peter Munga Kariuki
  25. Elder Robert Ngugi Kamau
  26. Elder Zakayo Wakaba Muiruri


Elders are pastors ordained through a rigourous identification process by the Church’s Presbytery court. They are given charge over the Districts of the local church (church cell groups) so as to shepherd and minister to all individual members of the church at the very basic level, the family. All members of the Presbyterian Church must therefore belong to a district which forms the basic unit for their spiritual growth as well as any personal ministry that one may need.
Under the elders in the Districts are chosen deacons who are assigned zones in the district to be able to effectively reach every member.
Elders are also the Patrons or pastors over the various groups and programmes established in the church for ministry to the unique categories of church members, e.g. the Men’s Fellowship, Woman’s Guild or Youth and Children ministries among others. They provide spiritual guidance as we as link and represent the various groups in the Church’s decision-making body, the Session.
The Elders, Deacons and Group leaders must endeavor to exemplify the Christian life in their own lives, character, conduct and speech. They ought to be able to share the Word of God and witness effectively. They also must be conversant with the Church doctrines and teachings. This enables to be effective leaders of the groups and persons entrusted to them.